ADAD HANNAH

Social Distancing Portraits

Social Distancing Portraits 

“On March 14th I got frustrated with feeling paralyzed - sitting at home endlessly reading the news - and decided to do the only thing I'm qualified to do and make some art. I put a long lens on my camera and headed out by foot. As I walked towards the shopping centre I asked people from a distance if I could take their pictures from far away. Many said no, but some said yes. I wanted to see if I could capture this strange tense in-between moment we are currently in. Things are changing fast yet we're also sort of stuck in time not knowing what comes next. I’ll keep doing this as long as it makes sense - I’m hoping this project doesn’t last too long. These videos are all shot from at least 5m away with a long lens. These unedited videos try to record in real-time this strange period we are all in together.”

- Adad Hannah

 

It is a privilege for us to be able to share a selection of this new work by Adad Hannah. The Musée d’art de Joliette thanks the artist for this kind authorization. See the latest on adadhannah.com or on Instagram @adadhannah

Our Glints and Reflections exhibition, curated by Lynn Bannon and Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre, will be presented this fall at The Rooms, Newfoundland.

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 55 (babies don't do still edition), 2020.

 

"My maternity leave was supposed to end on Monday, so now it’s just continuing in some way. We have had to readjust our expectations for sure. I think we’re in it for the long-haul. Everyone is betting on a vaccine but it’s not that easy. Maybe we need to step back from this globalized world?"

Kate and Quincy

---

 

"It’s been a little surreal. I work in investment banking so my work is pretty much zero these days. Everyone took on too much debt for the last ten years and now there’s going to be some brutalness. It’s all a nightmare."

Kyle

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 54 (back-alley-beer edition), 2020.

"Having a nice little get together with the neighbours, each staying on our side of the alley - individual appetizers, individual drinks, communicating, talking. We’re gonna do this every week, this is the first. I think it’s going to last into the fall for sure. I’m retired so I can stay home and help homeschool my daughter."

Tony

---

"I’m still working, we still have boats delivering to the islands. We’re part of the supply chain with food and medical supplies. The guys live on board the boats for a week each and we sanitize all the time. We are stuck at home, can’t goout but still in good spirits. It’s tough to not be able to visit with people."

Monica

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 52 (teacher edition), 2020.

"I’m a grade 4-7 music teacher. I actually went to my school today and saw my empty music room full of guitars that are not being played by any of my kids. But we’re working on it. I’m meeting with other teachers and trying to figure out a plan to keep some continuity without overburdening parents. We’re feeling overwhelmed by it all, but we’re trying to look forbright spots."

Corina and Chris

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 51 (the lady in red edition), 2020.

"It’s nice to get my picture taken. I’ve been staying in my apartment watching TV and eating. It’s like the world just stopped. It’s ridiculous with this virus. We can’t go anywhere, shopping, or anything. We just have to stick to our apartment. We only come out to have a smoke then go back in again. I talk and text with my family but it’s about all we can do."

Susan

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 50 (how did we get here edition), 2020.

“It feels weird cause it’s my Birthday. I celebrated yesterday with my grandparents but we had to social distance from each other. Tomorrow will be my other grandparents they’re going to stand in front of our house. "

Cassandra and Rozsika

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 47 (watching someone else on a trampoline edition), 2020.

"I don’t really like it because I can’t see my friends or anything. I FaceTime with my friends about five hours a day. I watch my friend jump on her trampoline a lot. Soccer is cancelled, piano we’re doing through Zoom. One positive I guess is that the environment is improving and there is less pollution."

Savannah

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 45 (cheap gas edition), 2020.

"I’m keeping busy at home, cleaning up my basement and clearing out some stuff. With no work I’m keeping busy withother projects. I always come down here as gas is a bit cheaper, so sometimes I use the one here and sometimes the other one, you know, spread your money around. I’m from England so I always call family and keep up with the news there too."

Willie

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 43 (Friday night edition), 2020.

"We’re Quarantine Buddies. We all just stay at this guy’s house, it’s a nice little life. It’s enjoyable, just us three, playing video games and doing our schoolwork. We planned this in advance. I have a girlfriend but I haven’t seen her in at least a week, it’s pretty sad, I won’t lie. We’re young, we’ve never experienced anything like this before. It’s hard to believe it might last till summer. Back then we were all making jokes about bat soup and now it’s serious."

Daniel, Nima, Devin

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 32 (tree-planter edition), 2020.

“Our season might get cancelled or delayed. I’m one of the managers and this is super uncertain. We’re going as if we’re going, but if the government shuts us down there’s nothing we can do. I’m optimistic - I think - if people listen to the government. Hopefully it will pass. There’ll be all kinds of social questions after this. Hopefully people don’t just forget about this once it’s over.”

Sergei

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 31 (let's beat this thing edition), 2020.

“We’re boxing, trying to keep it positive. We don’t want to stop completely but we’re taking it easy, we just want to stay in shape. I think our doctors are working hard, I believe they are working days and nights, they’re under a lot of pressure. Once they are 100 percent about it they’ll take care of it. We have to keep it positive, it’s going to be okay, everyone is going to be okay.”

Qadir

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 17, 2020.

 

"It’s scary because I don’t know if I’ll have work. I’m a painter and everything is shut down.”

Dimas

---

Music composed by Daniel Ingram

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 41 (student sisters edition), 2020.

 

"It’s challenging as a student. I’m concerned about missing out on my education. It’s challenging because everything is changing to online right at the end of the semester. I feel like I’m stuck at home and I can’t hang out with my friends."

Kristina and Katey

---

Music composed by Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic

ADAD HANNAH

Portraits de distanciation sociale

Social Distancing Portraits [Portraits de distanciation sociale]

«Le 14 mars dernier, j'étais frustré de me sentir paralysé, assis à la maison à lire sans cesse les nouvelles. J'ai donc décidé de faire la seule chose pour laquelle je suis qualifié : faire de l'art. J'ai mis un long objectif sur ma caméra et je suis parti à pied. En me dirigeant vers le centre commercial, j'ai demandé aux gens qui se trouvaient à distance si je pouvais les filmer de loin. Beaucoup ont répondu non, mais certains ont dit oui. Je voulais voir si je pouvais capturer cet étrange moment de tension dans lequel nous nous trouvons actuellement. Les choses changent rapidement, mais nous sommes aussi en quelque sorte coincés dans le temps, ne sachant pas ce qui va suivre. Je continuerai à le faire tant que cela aura un sens - j'espère que ce projet ne durera pas trop longtemps. Ces vidéos ont toutes été filmées à une distance d'au moins 5m, avec une lentille longue. Ces vidéos sont non-montées tentent de témoigner en temps réel cette période étrange dans laquelle nous sommes tous ensemble.»

- Adad Hannah

 

C’est un privilège de pouvoir diffuser quelques-uns des «portraits de distanciation sociale», réalisés récemment par Adad Hannah. Le Musée d’art de Joliette remercie l’artiste pour cette aimable autorisation de diffusion.

Pour voir le projet dans son entièreté, rendez-vous au adadhannah.com ou sur Instagram @adadhannah

 

L'exposition Reflets et réflexions d'Adad Hannah, commissariée par Lynn Bannon et Anne-Marie St-Jean Aubre, produite et mise en circulation par le Musée d'art de Joliette, sera présentée à The Rooms,

à Terre-Neuve à l'automne 2020. 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 55 (babies don't do still edition), 2020. 

 

« Mon congé de maternité devait se terminer lundi, alors c’est un peu comme s’il se prolongeait, d’une certaine manière. C’est sûr que nous avons dû réajuster nos plans. Je pense qu’on en a pour longtemps. Tout le monde parie sur un vaccin, mais ce ne sera pas si simple. Peut-être devrions-nous prendre un peu de recul par rapport à la mondialisation. »

Kate

---

« Ça fait un peu surréaliste. Comme je travaille dans les placements bancaires, mon travail est presque réduit à zéro. Tout le monde a contracté trop de dettes au cours des dix dernières années et, maintenant, les conséquences risquent d’être brutales. » 

Kyle

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 54 (back-alley-beer edition), 2020. 

 

« On se fait des rendez-vous avec les voisins d’en face, mais chacun reste de son côté de la ruelle – chacun avec son propre apéritif, ses propres boissons, on s’informe, on parle. C’est notre premier, mais on va remettre ça chaque semaine. Je pense qu’on va le faire certainement jusqu’à l’automne. Je suis à la retraite donc je peux rester à la maison et aider ma fille dans ses études à domicile. » 

Tony

---

« Je n’ai pas arrêté de travailler, nous avons encore des bateaux qui livrent vers les îles (autour de Vancouver). Nous faisons partie d’une chaîne d'approvisionnement en produits alimentaires et fournitures médicales. Les gars vivent à bord des bateaux durant une semaine chacun et nous désinfectons continuellement. On est coincé à la maison, sans pouvoir sortir, mais on reste toujours de bonne humeur. C’est difficile de ne pas pouvoir aller voir les gens. »

Monica

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 52 (teacher edition), 2020.

 

« Je suis professeure de musique de la 4e à la 7e année. Je suis allée à mon école aujourd'hui et j'ai vu ma salle de musique déserte, avec toutes ces guitares devenues inutiles sans les enfants pour en jouer. Mais nous travaillons pour remédier à cette situation. Je rencontre d'autres enseignants et j'essaie de trouver un plan pour poursuivre nos cours sans surcharger les parents. Nous nous sentons dépassés par tout cela, mais nous essayons de trouver une lueur d’espoir. »

Corina et Chris

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 51 (the lady in red edition), 2020.

 

« C'est agréable de me faire prendre en photo. Je reste dans mon appartement à regarder la télévision et à manger. C’est comme si le monde venait de s’arrêter. Ça tourne au ridicule avec ce virus. Nous ne pouvons aller nulle part, faire le tour des magasins ou quoi que ce soit d’autre. Nous devons rester confinés dans notre appartement. Nous sortons seulement pour fumer, puis nous y retournons. Je parle au téléphone et j’envoie des textos à ma famille, mais c'est tout ce que nous pouvons faire. »

Susan

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 50 (how did we get here edition), 2020.

« C'est mon anniversaire et ça fait bizarre. Je l’ai célébré hier avec mes grands-parents, mais nous avons dû nous tenir éloignés les uns des autres. Demain, ce sera au tour de mes autres grands-parents, mais ils vont se tenir devant notre maison. »

Cassandra and Rozsika

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 47 (watching someone else on a trampoline edition), 2020.

« Je n’aime vraiment pas ça, parce que je ne peux plus voir mes amis ou faire quoi que ce soit d’autre. Je passe environ cinq heures par jour avec mes amis sur FaceTime. Je regarde beaucoup mon amie sauter sur son trampoline. Le soccer est annulé, nous jouons du piano via Zoom. Le point positif, je suppose, est que l'environnement s'améliore et qu'il y a moins de pollution. »

Savannah

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 45 (cheap gas edition).

« À la maison, je me tiens occupé, je fais le ménage dans mon sous-sol et je me débarrasse de certains trucs. Sans travail, je me consacre à d’autres projets. Je viens toujours ici, car l’essence est un peu moins chère. Parfois, je viens ici et parfois je vais ailleurs, vous savez, il faut répartir son argent. Je viens d'Angleterre, par conséquent je téléphone souvent à la famille et je suis toujours au courant des nouvelles. »

Willie

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 43 (Friday night edition), 2020.

« Nous sommes des amis de « Quarantaine ». Nous restons tous chez ce gars-là, c'est une belle petite vie. C'est agréable, juste nous trois, on joue à des jeux vidéo et on fait nos devoirs. Nous avons planifié cela. J'ai une petite amie, mais je ne l'ai pas vue depuis au moins une semaine, c'est assez triste, je vous assure. Nous sommes jeunes, nous n'avons jamais rien vécu de tel auparavant. Il est difficile de croire que cela pourrait durer jusqu'à l'été. À l'époque, nous faisions tous des blagues sur la soupe de chauve-souris et maintenant ce n’est plus drôle. »

Daniel, Nima, Devin

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 32 (tree-planter edition), 2020.

« Notre saison pourrait être annulée ou retardée. En tant que manager, je vis dans l’incertitude. Nous envisageons commencer, mais si le gouvernement nous en empêche, nous ne pouvons rien faire. Je suis optimiste - je pense - si les gens écoutent le gouvernement. Espérons que cela passera. Il y aura toutes sortes de questions sociales après cela. J'espère que les gens ne l'oublieront pas une fois que ce sera fini. »

Sergei

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 31 (let's beat this thing edition), 2020.

« Nous faisons de la boxe tout en essayant de rester positifs. Nous ne voulons pas rester inactifs, on y va doucement, juste assez pour demeurer en forme. Je pense que nos médecins travaillent dur, je crois qu’ils travaillent jour et nuit, ils sont soumis à beaucoup de pression. Lorsqu’ils plancheront là-dessus à 100 %, ils règleront ce problème. Nous devons rester positifs, ça va aller, tout le monde doit être positif. »

Qadir

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic 

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Portrait 17, 2020.

« Ce qui n’est pas rassurant, c’est que je ne sais pas si j'aurai du travail. Je suis peintre et tout est fermé. »

Dimas

---

Musique composée par Daniel Ingram

Adad Hannah, Social Distancing Video Portrait 41 (student sisters edition), 2020.

« C'est difficile en tant qu'étudiante. Je crains de rater mon année scolaire. Ce ne sera pas facile, car tout va se passer en ligne à la fin du semestre. J'ai l'impression d'être coincée à la maison et je ne peux pas sortir avec mes amis. »

Kristina and Katey

---

Musique composée par Brigitte Dajczer @brigamusic