Particles – Unexpected Correspondences

Organized by Culture pour tous and Littérature québécoise mobile with the collaboration of Mouvement Art Mobile during the 24th edition of the Journées de la culture, the third edition of Particles – Unexpected Correspondences brought together 37 writers and visuals artists, and 125 members of the public from Quebec and abroad. Photographer and director Joannie Lafrenière and writer Yara El-Ghadban were the proud ambassadors of the event.

 

On October 22nd, from 2 to 4 p.m., everyone hopped on Twitter to exchange views around the theme “What room of one’s own?” The choreography went like this: writers would start the conversations with short and open texts, and artists would respond with visual works specially prepared for the occasion. The public was invited to join in the surprising exchanges with their own texts and images in order to create a large scale and performative dialogue.

 

In reference to Virginia Woolf’s A Room of One’s Own, this year’s theme was rooted in feminist discourse and resolutely open to a diversity of voices and practices. The idea was to collectively discover current or past rooms that bear witness to the stillness, strangeness, and difficulties encountered during the pandemic. In times of crisis—and lockdown especially—these rooms, real or imagined, are shared with family, friends, and colleagues mainly through screens. Needless to say that for some, this is a luxury. As the frontier between public and private space become more porous, our socials masks, too, are eroding. With that in mind, the third edition of Particles, in its own artistic and literary way, questioned our uneasy perceptions of the places we (try to) inhabit on a daily basis.

 

- Benoit Bordeleau, Coordinator at Littérature québécoise mobile

A micro narrative of our confined lives

Participants : @FelixAnt_All, @nt2bert, @LandryDiane5, @beteferoce, @samuel_i_m, @Momentpartiel, @jessdesica, @clpeloquin, @ysoboy, @LynnRoy_corr, @fre_dub, @pagemonique3, @ElgatitoColorao, @AudreyWay, @catlap78, @ChloRobitaille1, @PhilippeGingra3, @Lucktally, @LoraineCahun

Following the event, the Musée d'art de Joliette was given the mandate to develop a virtual exhibition from a selection of the public’s poetic and visual contributions. By this curatorial approach we wish to bring out new layers of meaning.

Addressing the perception we have of the spaces we live in seems impossible without commenting on the new collective experience of the past months. The lockdown has indeed profoundly changed our ways of experiencing space and time. It affects our daily lives as much as our imaginations. While public spaces lose their vivacity, our homes become the theater of every sphere of our lives: work, creation, entertainment, (virtual) meetings with people we love. Shared or not, these houses (now worlds) might also become places of immobility, boredom, routine, and solitude. While the isolation and sedentary lifestyle brought on by the lockdown generate a loss of hope for many, others wait with patience and stay the course by drawing on their imagination to reinvent the spaces to which they are confined.

This tension between discouragement, resilience, and hope is palpable in the poems and images selected here. Even if they were gleaned from the 2000 publications exchanged on October 22, texts and visual works seem to respond to each other. They recount intimate experiences and echo shared feelings. Together, they can be read as a sensitive micro narrative of our confined lives, and certainly testify to a shared need to talk about this extraordinary experience.

- Camille Rémillard-Vigneault, Guest Curator, Museology Intern

* By clicking on the texts and images, you will have access to their original context of publication on twitter. *

 

The Musée d'art de Joliette would like to thank Culture pour tous, Littérature québécoise mobile and Mouvement art mobile for the organization of this third edition of Particles – Unexpected Correspondences and for their collaboration in the organization of this exhibition.

We would also like to thank the public for their poetic and visual contributions, without which the conception of this exhibition would not have been possible.

 

Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 121500.jpg
2.@nt2bert.jpg
3.@LandryDiane5.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 121920.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122157.jpg
6.@samuel_i_m.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122616.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122817.png

9.@jessdessica.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 123124.png
11.@Momentpartiel.jpg
12.@clpeloquin.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-22 115728.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 124746.png
15.@ysoboy.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 125039.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 125303.png
18.@ysoboy.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-19 145444.png
20.@ElgalitoColorao_MTL.jpg
26.@PhilippeGingra3.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 130917.png
25.@ChloRobitaille1.jpg

Capture d’écran 2020-11-17 130038.jpg
23.@nt2bert.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 130011.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-23 123009.png
29.@pagemonique3.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 132126.png

Particules - Correspondances inattendues

Organisée par Culture pour tous et Littérature québécoise mobile avec la collaboration du Mouvement Art Mobile, dans le cadre des Journées de la culture 2020, l’activité Particules – correspondances inattendues a rassemblé pour sa troisième édition 37 écrivain·e·s et artistes en arts visuels et plus de 125 participants·e·s du public en provenance des quatre coins du Québec et d’ailleurs. Cette troisième édition avait pour ambassadrices la réalisatrice et photographe Joannie Lafrenière et l’écrivaine Yara El-Ghadban.

Le 22 octobre dernier, de 14h à 16h, toutes et tous se sont réuni.e.s sur la plateforme Twitter afin d’échanger autour d'une thématique choisie. La performance se déploie alors selon une mécanique bien huilée : autrices et auteurs amorcent les discussions par de courts textes, tandis que les artistes en arts visuels y répondent par des œuvres spécialement préparées pour l’occasion. À ces  correspondances parfois étonnantes se mêle la voix du public, donnant ainsi vie à un dialogue à grande échelle.

Référence assumée à l’œuvre de Virginia Woolf, le thème de cette année, « Quelle chambre à soi? », se voulait résolument ouvert à la parole féministe à la diversité des voix et des pratiques. Il s'agissait de découvrir, collectivement, des chambres présentes ou passées qui témoignent de nos ancrages, parfois sereins, parfois étranges, quelquefois douloureux. En temps de crise et, surtout, de confinement, ces chambres, réelles ou imaginées, sont partagées avec d’autres – ami·e·s, famille, collègues de travail – par le biais des écrans, lorsque nous en avons, bien sûr, les moyens. Conscient·e·s que la frontière entre public et privé est devenue plus poreuse, voire érodée, tout comme le sont devenus nos masques sociaux, la troisième édition de Particules, sous des angles artistiques et littéraires, interrogeait la perception inquiète que nous avons des espaces que nous occupons - ou essayons d’occuper - quotidiennement.

-Benoit Bordeleau, Coordonnateur à Littérature québécoise mobile

Un micro-récit de nos vies confinées 

Participants : @FelixAnt_All, @nt2bert, @LandryDiane5, @beteferoce, @samuel_i_m, @Momentpartiel, @jessdesica, @clpeloquin, @ysoboy, @LyneRoy_corr, @fre_dub, @pagemonique3, @ElgatitoColorao, @AudreyWay, @catlap78, @ChloRobitaille1, @PhilippeGingra3, @Lucktally, @LoraineCahun

 

À la suite de la tenue de l’événement, le Musée d’art de Joliette s’est vu confier la mission de concevoir une exposition virtuelle à partir d’une sélection des contributions poétiques et visuelles du grand public, afin de poser un regard commissarial sur ces dernières et d’en faire émerger un nouveau sens.

Comment aborder la perception que nous avons des espaces que nous habitons sans commenter l’expérience inédite que nous traversons depuis mars dernier? Le confinement a en effet profondément bouleversé nos façons d’expérimenter l’espace et le temps et teinte désormais nos quotidiens comme nos imaginaires. Alors que les espaces communs perdent de leur vivacité, nos demeures deviennent le théâtre de toutes les sphères de nos vies : on y travaille, on y crée, on s’y divertit, on s’y rencontre (virtuellement), on y vit ensemble, ou seul. Paradoxalement, ces maisons-mondes deviennent aussi parfois les lieux de l’immobilité, de l’ennui, de la routine et de la solitude. Alors que la sédentarité et l’isolement entraînés par le confinement génèrent une perte d’espoir chez certain.e.s, d’autres s’arment de patience et puisent dans l’imaginaire et le rêve afin de garder le cap et de réinventer les espaces auxquels ils sont confiné.e.s.

Cette tension entre découragement, résilience et espoir est palpable dans l’échantillon de poèmes et d’images ici présenté. Textes et œuvres, qui ont pourtant été glanés parmi les 2 000 publications échangées le 22 octobre 2020, semblent se répondre grâce au caractère intime des expériences qu’ils relatent et aux sentiments partagés qui s’y font écho. Ils peuvent, ensemble, être lus comme un micro-récit sensible de nos vies confinées, et témoignent assurément d’un besoin partagé d’échanger autour de cette expérience hors du commun.

- Camille Rémillard-Vigneault, Commissaire invitée, stagiaire en muséologie

* En cliquant sur les textes et les images, vous aurez accès à leur contexte de publication sur twitter. 

Le Musée d’art de Joliette tient à remercier Culture pour tous, Littérature québécoise mobile et Mouvement art mobile pour l’organisation de cette troisième édition de l’événement Particules – correspondances inattendues et pour leur collaboration dans l’organisation de cette exposition.

Nous tenons également à remercier les participant.es du grand public pour leurs contributions poétiques et visuelles, sans lesquelles la conception de cette exposition n’aurait pas été possible.

Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 121500.jpg
2.@nt2bert.jpg
3.@LandryDiane5.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 121920.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122157.jpg
6.@samuel_i_m.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122616.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 122817.png

9.@jessdessica.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 123124.png
11.@Momentpartiel.jpg
12.@clpeloquin.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-22 115728.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 124746.png
15.@ysoboy.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 125039.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 125303.png
18.@ysoboy.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-19 145444.png
20.@ElgalitoColorao_MTL.jpg
26.@PhilippeGingra3.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 130917.png
25.@ChloRobitaille1.jpg

Capture d’écran 2020-11-17 130038.jpg
23.@nt2bert.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 130011.png
Capture d’écran 2020-11-23 123009.png
29.@pagemonique3.jpg
Capture d’écran 2020-11-14 132126.png