WEEK 12

THE MARGIN

(4 -10 June, 2020)

 

Artists are often thought of as being "on the margins" of society, partly because most of them struggle to have the value of their work recognized in our capitalist societies. Does being an artist automatically place you outside the dominant discourses and systems? The history of art is full of examples of marginal artists, who were not recognized during their lifetime, and who have since been awarded posthumous fame... And what about the propensity of a certain contemporary art scene to fuel on unknown, underground, rebellious practices?

 

Historically, museums have failed to showcase and collect the work of women artists and artists from a diversity of cultures. Several institutions, including the MAJ, now intend to rectify their approach by exhibiting and acquiring a greater number of works by artists from diverse backgrounds and/or who have historically been under-represented. Today, initiatives of all kinds give more space to the fringes of the arts community (people with mental health problems, people living on the street, the deaf community, the visually impaired community, to name but a few) and to the accessibility issues they raise.

 

For the twelfth week of Quarantined Museum, we invite you to think about the margin. What defines the margin? What defines what is not the margin? Is marginality determined by self-identification or is it done so by the view of others? Does difference automatically mean marginality?

SEMAINE 12

LA MARGE

(4 juin au 10 juin 2020)

On pense souvent aux artistes comme étant « en marge » de la société, entre autres parce qu’ils peinent pour la plupart à faire reconnaître la valeur de leur travail dans nos sociétés capitalistes. Est-ce qu’être artiste, c’est automatiquement se placer à l’écart des discours et des systèmes dominants? L’histoire de l’art pullule d’exemples d’artistes marginaux, non reconnus de leur vivant, puis auréolés d’une gloire posthume… Et que dire d’un milieu de l’art actuel qui se nourrit de pratiques méconnues, souterraines, rebelles?

 

Historiquement, les musées ont omis de s’intéresser au travail des femmes artistes ou encore des artistes issus de la diversité culturelle. Plusieurs institutions, dont le MAJ, entendent aujourd’hui rectifier leur approche en exposant et en faisant l’acquisition d’un plus grand nombre d’œuvres provenant d’artistes de diverses origines ou ayant été historiquement sous-représentés. Aujourd’hui, des initiatives de toutes sortes donnent de plus en plus de place aux franges de la communauté artistique (les gens souffrant de troubles de santé mentale, les personnes vivant dans la rue, la communauté sourdienne, la communauté malvoyante, pour ne nommer que celles-ci) et aux enjeux d’accessibilité qu’elles soulèvent.

 

Pour cette douzième semaine de Musée en quarantaine, nous vous invitions à réfléchir au thème de la marge. Qu'est-ce qui définit la marge? Qu’est-ce qui définit ce qui n’est pas la marge? Est-ce qu'on s’autodétermine comme marginal ou est-ce plutôt le regard des autres qui nous détermine en tant que tel? Y a-t-il automatiquement marginalité dès qu’il y a différence?