WEEK 2 

ART AND SCIENCE

(March 26 - April 1, 2020)

 

Art and science may seem irreconcilable at first glance, but it was otherwise at a time when knowledge was more limited. The MAJ’s two main exhibitions of the 2019 fall season, by Patrick Coutu and Marina Gadonneix, put forward scientific research as an artistic subject and strategy. Specifically, these two artists are interested in scientific models, physical or abstract, that represent natural phenomena. In their own way, they shake the existing models they encounter and make them their own.

 

Both these artists’ research suggests that in science, as in art, objectivity is unattainable. There are many links between the two disciplines: research, experimentation, studies, devices... Einstein would have added imagination to the list. What if instinct is one of the force fields that govern the universe?

For this second week of Quarantined Museum, we invite you to unleash your creativity by tackling the themes of art and science. What do you think these two areas of human thought have in common (or not)?

SEMAINE 2

ART ET SCIENCE

(26 mars - 1er avril 2020)

La science et les arts peuvent sembler irréconciliables. Il en était autrement à une époque où le savoir était plus limité. Les deux expositions principales de la saison d’automne 2019 du Musée d’art de Joliette, celles de Patrick Coutu et de Marina Gadonneix, mettaient de l’avant la recherche scientifique en tant que sujet et stratégie artistiques. Elles s’intéressaient plus spécifiquement aux modèles scientifiques, physiques ou abstraits, représentant les phénomènes naturels.

Ces deux artistes ébranlent, à leur façon, les modèles existants qu’ils rencontrent; leur recherche suggère qu’en science comme en art, l’objectivité est inatteignable. Les rapprochements sont nombreux entre les deux disciplines : recherche, expérimentations, études, dispositifs… Einstein ajouterait l’imagination à cette liste. Et si l’instinct constituait l’un des champs de forces qui régissent l’univers?

Pour cette deuxième semaine de Musée en quarantaine, nous vous invitions à ouvrir votre créativité grâce à la notion de l’art et la science. La question que nous vous posions : selon vous, qu’ont en commun (ou non) ces deux domaines de la pensée humaine ?