THEME 23

SUPERIMPOSITION

(8 -30 April, 2021)

Superimposition is the act of arranging two or more things on top of one another. In geometry, the superimposition of two figures aims to demonstrate their equivalence or their perfect coincidence. By extension, we superimpose two concepts to signify their accretion, or their correspondence. The superimposition of ideas or elements can conceal or reveal: in either case, the outcome is the reading of two or more elements together, one through the other.

 

This month on Quarantined Museum, we propose a reflection on superimposition as a conceptual and technical strategy. This theme was inspired by an exhibition currently on display at the Musée. In his Somebody Nobody Was..., Kaska Dena artist Joseph Tisiga superimposes both narratives and objects. In the series No Home in Scorched Earth, for instance, he uses watercolour to retouch large-scale photographs printed on wood, which he then covers in plastic wrap meant for packing. The images document a performance by Tisiga during which he refers to his own mixed identity and to that of an intriguing and controversial figure, the Englishman Archibald Stansfeld Belaney (1888-1938). Better known as Grey Owl, this environmentalist before his time immigrated to Canada at the age of 17, then forged a Scottish and Indigenous heritage and pursued a career as a successful speaker and author.

With this call for participation, we invite you to consider superimposition as a technique and a strategy for reflection. What objects in your everyday life can be perfectly superimposed upon one another? Do you know artists who work with collage? What happens, for instance, when one superimposes two mediums, like sculpture and photography? Or two gels of different colour? How do you describe the effect of an exquisite cadaver? Is history not the superimposition of stories? Is accumulation a source of joy for you, or of anxiety? Are layers of meaning for you things to delve into? To peal away? To flatten?

THE ARTISTS OF 
AIR ÉDUCATIVE FAMILLE RENÉ PRÉVILLE

Each month, the education team of the Musée d'art de Joliette offers a free activity open to all in the René Préville Family Educational Area at the MAJ, in connection with the theme of Museum in Quarantine. For those who wish, we will scan your creations and display them! 

Click here to learn more about the René Préville Family Educational Area

Léopold Landry
Léopold Landry

Francis Landry
Francis Landry

Léopold Landry
Léopold Landry

1/2

THÈME 23

SUPERPOSITION

(du 8 au 30 avril 2021)

La superposition est l’action de disposer deux ou plusieurs choses l’une par-dessus ou sur l’autre. En géométrie, la superposition de deux figures vise à démontrer leur équivalence ou leur coïncidence parfaite. Par extension, on superpose deux concepts pour signifier leur accumulation, ou leur correspondance. La superposition d’idées ou d’éléments peut camoufler ou révéler : dans les deux cas, en résulte la lecture de deux ou plusieurs éléments ensemble, l’un à travers l’autre.

 

Ce mois-ci sur Musée en quarantaine, nous vous proposons de réfléchir à la superposition en tant que stratégie conceptuelle et technique. Ce thème nous a été inspiré par une exposition en cours au Musée. Dans son exposition Somebody Nobody Was… [Quelqu’un que personne n’était…], l’artiste kaska dena Joseph Tisiga use autant de la superposition de récits que de la superposition d’objets. Dans la série No Home in Scorched Earth [Sans racines sur la terre brûlée], par exemple, il retouche à l’aquarelle des photographies de grand format imprimées sur bois, qu’il recouvre ensuite de pellicule plastique destinée à l’emballage. Les images documentent une performance de Tisiga pendant laquelle il fait référence à sa propre identité mixte ainsi qu’à celle d’un personnage intriguant et controversé, l’Anglais Archibald Stansfeld Belaney (1888-1938). Mieux connu sous le nom de Grey Owl, cet environnementaliste avant la lettre a immigré au Canada à l’âge de 17 ans, s’est forgé un héritage écossais et autochtone, et a poursuivi une carrière de conférencier et d’auteur à succès.

Lire l'intégralité du texte de l'annonce du thème

LES ARTISTES DE 
L'AIRE ÉDUCATIVE FAMILLE RENÉ PRÉVILLE

Chaque mois, l'équipe d'éducation du Musée d'art de Joliette propose une activité gratuite et ouverte à toutes et à tous dans l'Aire éducative Famille René Préville au MAJ, en lien avec le thème de Musée en quarantaine. Pour les personnes qui le désirent, nous scannons vos créations et nous les exposons ! 

Cliquez ici pour savoir en savoir plus sur l'Aire éducative Famille René Préville

Léopold Landry
Léopold Landry

press to zoom
Francis Landry
Francis Landry

press to zoom
Léopold Landry
Léopold Landry

press to zoom
1/2